Nominations open for The Scottish Awards for Quality in Planning 2018

News story posted: 10/04/2018

The Scottish Awards for Quality in Planning 2018 (SAQP2018) are open for nominations. The awards, from the Scottish Government, celebrate achievements in planning.


SAQP2018 has 5 categories, including a new category introduced as part of 2018 being the Year of Young People. The categories are:


  1. Children and Young People i.e. innovation where children and young people have made a positive impact on the planning of a place.
  2. Partnership i.e. innovation in working collaboratively, at any stage, within the planning process
  3. Place i.e. innovation in any architectural building or place (built or natural)
  4. Plans i.e. innovation in development planning ranging from strategic to settlements
  5. Process i.e. innovation in improving, or simplifying, any type of processes


The SAQP application form and guidance to applicants are now available.


In addition to the SAQP Awards for projects, the Scottish Government also has two linked Awards – one for Personal Achievement in Planning and the other is the People’s Choice in Planning:


Personal Achievement in Planning Award (PAPA)

This Award is to recognise an individual person, team, local authorities, consultants, community groups, developers, public agencies plus volunteers and voluntary organisations that have made an outstanding contribution to planning. This can be for their contribution to a particular project or for lifetime recognition of commitment to the industry. All entries must be nominated.


People’s Choice Award (PCA)

The People’s Choice Award allows anyone to vote for their favourite shortlisted SAQP entry. The idea is that this Award gives everyone a chance to get involved and express their support for whatever they consider to have been a great project in 2018.


The closing date for nominations is 24 May 2018.


For more information, including guidance, previously shortlisted projects, and applications forms, please visit: https://blogs.gov.scot/planning-architecture/2018/04/04/scottish-awards-for-quality-in-planning-2018/

cosla logo improvement service logo
scottish government logo